[Review] Chasing the Devil's Tail - David Fulmer

No comments :
Title of Book: Chasing the Devil’s Tail: A Valentin St. Cyr Mystery
Series: Storyville #1
Author: David Fulmer
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Year: 2001
Language: English
Format: Hardback
Pages: 226

Not New Orleans--but Storyville--noir...and all that jazz!
1907 Storyville. Cultures, races, and religions more often blend than clash in a rich gumbo only New Orleans could serve up. But trouble brews. In this red light district, prostitutes ply their trade whether in cramped cribs or elegant houses of French ancestry, while music surges through its streets and helps harmonize the light and dark elements. King Bolden rules the Storyville brass with his golden coronet and his gift--jasser--to blow a riff on the city's music that pulses with new rhythms and notes. But the real King of Storyville is Tom Anderson, the district's powerful property owner and political fixer, who employs Creole detective Valentin St. Cyr to dig into the deaths of a string of prostitutes. Each victim is found with a black rose. Is a serial killer leaving a calling card? Is King Bolden losing his mind as he stretches his genius to its limits? Why is an elderly priest sent away under care?

[Review] And Then There Were None - Agatha Christie

No comments :
Title of Book: And Then There Were None (Lalu Semuanya Lenyap)
Author: Agatha Christie
Publisher: PT Gramedia Pustaka Utama
Publication Year: 2008
Language: Bahasa Indonesia
Translator: Mareta
Format: Paperback
Pages: 291

Sepuluh orang diundang ke sebuah rumah mewah dan modern di Pulau Negro, di seberang pantai Devon. Walaupun masing-masing menyimpan rahasia, mereka tiba di pulau itu dengan penuh harapan, pada suatu sore musim panas yang indah.
Tetapi tiba-tiba terjadi serentetan kejadian misterius. Pulau itu berubah menjadi pulau maut yang mengerikan. Panik mencekam orang-orang itu ketika mereka meninggal satu demi satu... satu demi satu...

Top Ten Best Books I Read in 2015

No comments :

Hi! It's time for Top Ten Tuesday again. The year almost ends which makes it the perfect time to kind of wrap up my reading year. Today's topic is best books I read in 2015. I include mangas in this list. Because why not? These are good mangas and they are in book form so that counts, right? Anyway, I made this list in chronological order from the oldest to the latest I read this year.

[Review] Table for Seven - Whitney Gaskell

No comments :
Title of Book: Table for Seven
Author: Whitney Gaskell
Publisher: Bantam
Publication Year: 2013
Language: English
Format: ebook
Pages: 256

A warm and witty novel about friendship, fine dining, and learning that life doesn't always turn out quite how we expect it to--perfect for fans of Barbara O'Neal and Nancy Thayer 
On New Year's Eve, Fran and Will Parrish host a dinner party, serving their friends a gourmet feast. The night is such a success that the group decides to form a monthly dinner party club. But what starts as an excuse to enjoy the company of fellow foodies ends up having lasting repercussions on each member of the Table for Seven Dinner Party Club. 
Fran and Will face the possibility that their comfortable marriage may not be as infallible as they once thought. Audrey has to figure out how to move on and start a new life after the untimely death of her young husband. Perfectionist Jaime suspects that her husband, Mark, might be having an affair. Coop, a flirtatious bachelor who never commits to a third date, is blindsided when he falls in love for the first time. Leland, a widower, is a wise counselor and firm believer that bacon makes everything taste better.
Over the course of a year, against a backdrop of mouthwatering meals, relationships are forged, marriages are tested, and the members of the Table for Seven Dinner Party Club find their lives forever changed. 

[Review] They Do It with Mirrors - Agatha Christie

No comments :
Title of Book: They Do It with Mirrors (Muslihat dengan cermin)
Author: Agatha Christie
Publisher: PT Gramedia Pustaka Utama
Publication Year: 2011
Language: Bahasa Indonesia
Translator: Julanda Tantani
Format: Paperback
Pages: 286

Untuk memenuhi janji kepada seorang teman sekolah lama, Miss Marple bersedia tinggal di rumah di daerah pedesaan---bersama dua ratus remaja yang mengalami gangguan jiwa dan tujuh ahli waris harta seorang nyonya tua. Salah seorang dari mereka pembunuh, yang mempunyai keahlian untuk berada di dua tempat sekaligus.

[Review] The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding - Agatha Christie

No comments :
Title of Book: The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding (Skandal Perjamuan Natal)
Author: Agatha Christie
Publisher: PT Gramedia Pustaka Utama
Publication Year: 2007
Language: Bahasa Indonesia
Translator: Suwarni A.S.
Format: Paperback
Pages: 352

Jangan makan puding itu.
Puding Natal khusus itu terhidang dengan segala kemegahannya di piring hidangan dari perak. Pudding itu berbentuk bola kaki yang besar. Setangkai daun holly tertancap di atasnya, seperti bendera kemenangan, dan nyala api biru dan merah cemerlang semarak di sekelilingnya. Terdengar pekik sorak kagum dari semua yang hadir.
Hercule Poirot memandang kue di piringnya dengan ekspresi agak aneh. 
Itu karena dia telah menemukan secarik surat pendek di tempat tidurnya, yang berbunyi: